Rockvale Writers’ Group

Rockvale Writers’ Group is comprised of two separate writing-related entities. Although these entities share the name Rockvale, the same founder, and are linked via their websites, they operate separately. Think of them as sisters within the same family – glad to be related, but with unique personalities and distinct purposes.

Rockvale Writers’ Colony, located in College Grove, TN, is a writers’ residency and retreat center tucked in the beautiful rolling hills just south of Nashville.

Rockvale Review is an online poetry journal that publishes two issues a year. The journal presents poetry by established, emerging, and beginner poets and pairs each poem with a piece of art or photography chosen by a featured artist. A featured musician/composer responds to 3-5 accepted poems in each issue with an original piece of music. Poetry, visual art, and music live side by side in Rockvale. 


Please make sure you choose the correct Submission / Application form! 

Information: 

We believe journaling is an essential practice - not just for writers but for all of us. When we journal, we are free to express all our private thoughts, both good and bad, that spin around in our brains. When we journal, we release energy to the page and process complicated emotions as we physically move our hand across the paper. Our journals can be a jumping-off place for other writing, for new ideas, new phrases, and new ways of thinking. Open minds make for richer creativity and imagination. 

In this all-inclusive weekend retreat, we will explore how to journal with the five senses. We will see, hear, taste, touch, and smell our environment and also bring sensory memories to the forefront as we recall instances in our lives that hold great meaning for us. We will let our senses lead us to the deep places that need mining and perhaps stumble upon jewels in the process. 

If you've had a journaling practice for decades or are just beginning to wonder what journaling is all about, this retreat is for you. There will be 4 workshops but also lots of free time to ponder, rest, or explore. Join us at Rockvale this spring and let's see where your creative path leads. 

This retreat is for beginner and established writers as well as not-yet-writers exploring writing and journaling for the first time.

 
Details:
Place: Rockvale Writers' Colony, 6994 Giles Hill Road, College Grove, TN
Time and Date: 4:00 p.m. Friday, March 8 to 11:00 a.m. Sunday, March 10, 2024
Cost: $425.00 (plus taxes) $150.00 non-refundable deposit is due upon registration. Balance of $275.00 is due by February 15, 2023.
Includes: 2 nights in a private bedroom/bathroom suite, access to RWC common areas, gardens, and hiking trails, 5 meals with wine at dinner, 4 workshops, and community with other writers.

 

Information: 

Have you always wanted to write?

Are you a secret poet?

Do you have a story that’s been nagging at you for years, whispering, “tell me.”

But calling yourself a writer, well . . . taking that leap . . .

It’s okay. You’re not alone. Having a creative heart is a blessing, not a curse.

During this all-inclusive weekend retreat, you’ll find the gentle permission you need to begin the journey and the tools to get you going. You’ll discover the joy and freedom of embracing your particular passion and casting your personal magic on the page.

This retreat is for beginner writers or "not yet" writers who feel the pull to write but don't know where to start. 


Details:
Place: Rockvale Writers' Colony, 6994 Giles Hill Road, College Grove, TN
Time and Date: 4:00 p.m. Friday, November 1 to 11:00 a.m. Sunday, November 3, 2024
Cost: $425 PLUS TAX - A $150.00 non-refundable deposit is due upon registration. The balance is due by October 11, 2024.
Includes: 2 nights in a private bedroom/bathroom suite, access to RWC common areas, gardens, and hiking trails, 5 meals with wine at dinner, 4 workshops, and community with other writers.

NOTE: After you register, we will contact you at the email you provided with details on how to pay the deposit.

Information: 

"...And you, too, have come into the world do this: 

to go easy, to be filled with light, and to shine."

-Mary Oliver, from When I Am Among the Trees


Good writing—the kind that feels good, the kind that flows—comes less when we call it and more when we invite. A powerful way to invite is to step back from our plans, our goals, even from the work itself, and just to give our attention back: to our practice, to our inspirations, to others' work, to the people and places and objects we encounter. I experience this kind of creative attention as a grounding, restorative, deeply sacred act—and an act of play. 

Play is anything we do with no intent to accomplish, to profit, or even to learn, but rather for pure openness, connection, and enjoyment. Play and attentive listening both teach us to let go of our attachment to outcomes, and to go easy. And though this is not the goal, it is the truth: when we make space for play and attention in our lives, composition tends to flow more freely. 

This weekend retreat will invite you into invitational practices that focus on depth and slowness, physical presence, and a little bit of whimsy and serenpidity. When we look at others' writing, we will do so through the lens of poetry, but you do not need to be a poet, or plan to write poetry during this retreat. (Though you may, of course!) Bring your curiosity and join us for a fun and restorative weekend. 


Details:
Place: Rockvale Writers' Colony, 6994 Giles Hill Road, College Grove, TN
Time and Date: 4:00 p.m. Friday, October 4 to 11:00 a.m. Sunday, October 6, 2024
Cost: $425 PLUS TAX - A $150.00 non-refundable deposit is due upon registration. The balance is due by September 13, 2024.
Includes: 2 nights in a private bedroom/bathroom suite, access to RWC common areas, gardens, and hiking trails, 5 meals with wine at dinner, 4 workshops, and community with other writers.

 NOTE: After you register, we will contact you at the email you provided with instructions to pay the deposit.

Information: 

This retreat is designed to engage us with the Holy through poetry as prayer – the reading, writing, and embodying of it.  One of my favorite poems is by Kaylin Haught, entitled, God Says Yes to Me.  It ends with these words:  “Sweetcakes God said/who knows where she picked that up/what I'm telling you is/Yes Yes Yes”  What I love about this is not only how she imagines God to be, but how she imagines God interacts with her with a Divine Yes!  In this workshop we’ll dig into the ways in which God or the Divine (or whatever embodiment of the Holy speaks to you) invites us with a Yes! to speak our minds, bear our hearts, and dig deep into love through our poems.  I hope you’ll join me on this adventure!  


Details:
Place: Rockvale Writers' Colony, 6994 Giles Hill Road, College Grove, TN
Time and Date: 4:00 p.m. Friday, April 12 to 11:00 a.m. Sunday, April 14, 2024
Cost: $425 PLUS TAX - A $150.00 non-refundable deposit is due upon registration. The balance is due by March 22, 2024.
Includes: 2 nights in a private bedroom/bathroom suite, access to RWC common areas, gardens, and hiking trails, 5 meals with wine at dinner, 4 workshops, and community with other writers.

 NOTE: After you register, we will contact you at the email you provided with instructions to pay the deposit.

Information: 

Writing, particularly when it entails a story from our own experience, can be an intimidating and, often, frightening. endeavor. My hope for this retreat is to create space for you to heal your heart through writing, offering an environment in which you can feel supported and motivated in crafting your stories, whether through fiction or nonfiction.

In this four-part class we'll explore the art and magic of writing as a healing process in a collaborative and supportive environment. Together, we will share our stories, read a variety of essays and short fiction in order to identify how others have utilized the written word to heal themselves, and then we will begin to develop and create our own pieces utilizing the techniques identified in classic and contemporary texts. Finally, we will thoughtfully workshop one another's work in an effort to support and inspire each other as writers, culminating in a reading of our work in literary salon fashion!

With an emphasis on discovery and fun, you will be encouraged to try new things and new voices in your work. No previous experience necessary - just an open heart!

 
Details:
Place: Rockvale Writers' Colony, 6994 Giles Hill Road, College Grove, TN
Time and Date: 4:00 p.m. Friday, November 8 to 11:00 a.m. Sunday, November 10, 2024
Cost: $425.00 PLUS TAX. A $150.00 non-refundable deposit is due upon registration. Balance is due by October 18, 2024.
Includes: 2 nights in a private bedroom/bathroom suite, access to RWC common areas, gardens, and hiking trails, 5 meals with wine at dinner, 4 workshops, and community with other writers.

 

Information: 

This retreat is for writers, readers, dreamers (hey! that's you!) who seek a weekend of stillness, solitude, and reflection. This is not a retreat of "doing." It's a retreat of "being." There are no workshops, no readings, no schedules (other than for meals and meditation opportunities.) There are no expectations for participation in anything other than your own renewal. Retreaters may choose to write, journal, draw, color, read, knit, meditate, nap, think, or pray. The key is to bask in stillness, to let the quiet soak into your skin and into your heart.

Participants will stay in private bedroom/bathroom suites and will have access to common spaces such as the library, reading room, and writing porch. If they wish, participants can hike within the 65 acres of colony property and explore the winter gardens. All meals are provided.

 
Details:
Place: Rockvale Writers' Colony, 6994 Giles Hill Road, College Grove, TN
Time and Date: 4:00 p.m. Friday, November 15 to 11:00 a.m. Sunday, November 17, 2024
Cost: $350.00 PLUS TAX. A $150.00 non-refundable deposit is due upon registration. Balance is due by October 25, 2024
Includes: 2 nights in a private bedroom/bathroom suite, access to RWC common areas, gardens, and hiking trails, 5 meals with wine at dinner, 4 workshops, and community with other writers.

 

$30.00


First Time Applicants:

We accept applications year-round and only through Submittable. A non-refundable $30.00 application fee applies to all first-time applicants who are applying for a residency. We highly suggest you take the time to familiarize yourself with the purpose of RWC by reading our website, especially "What is a Writers' Colony" https://rockvalewriterscolony.org/about/what-is-a-writers-colony/

Rockvale Writers' Colony does not offer scholarships at this time; however, our weekly rates are highly subsidized. Food and travel are the responsibility of the writer. The following fees apply to all accepted applicants:

  • Weekly Residency Fee - $425 for Farmhouse Rooms and Cabin, $475.00 for Granary.
  • Cleaning Fee - $30
  • Sales Tax of 9.75% and Occupancy Tax of 4%

PLEASE NOTE: Filling out the application completely and in detail is extremely important. Make sure you read the notes beside each question as these can guide you in providing answers. Do not rush through the application. Acceptance as a writer-in-residence at RWC is not guaranteed. Applications that contain insufficient answers or lack care and attention to detail will be declined. 

Also Note: Farmhouse rooms are assigned by the director the week before residency begins. Most of our writers will stay in the Farmhouse and we do not accept room requests for this building. Writers may request to stay in the Cabin and Granary (additional fees apply for Granary) and when possible, we'll do our best to fulfill these requests. 


If you've already applied and been accepted, this form is for you! Do not use this form if this is your first time applying to Rockvale Writers' Colony. 

In order to simplify the residency date request process, we're asking returning writers to communicate with us through Submittable. There is no fee to request a new residency for returning or previously accepted writers. 

2024 residency fees are:

$425 for Farmhouse Rooms and Cabin - plus fees and taxes

$475 for Granary and Carriage House Rooms- plus fees and taxes


 

We look forward to welcoming you back to the colony!


 

$3.00

For Submissions of Poetry:
1. Send 1-3 poems. 

2. Please don't send song lyrics or greeting card verse, poems with explicit language, or poems that are overtly political, sexual, or discriminatory.

3. It is unlikely that we will publish rhyming verse. 

4. It is unlikely that we will publish translations. 

5. While we will consider all types and forms of poetry, we lean toward image-driven work that is clearly grounded in craft. We pay attention to line breaks, enjambment, use of punctuation, musicality, rhythm of language, etc.


Applicable to all genres:
1. We read blind, so don’t put your name anywhere on your work or in the title of the file you attach. If we see a name, the submission will be disqualified and we won’t read it. There will be no fee refund. 

2. You can add a cover letter and a 100-word, 3rd-person bio in the appropriate section on the form if you wish, but we are more interested in the quality of the work you send now than in your past achievements. If your work is accepted, we will contact you for your author’s bio.

3. Please use 12-point, Times New Roman font. We only accept .doc, .docx or PDF files.

4. We may ask for an edit in a piece of writing we really believe in.

5. While we’d love to compensate you for your beautiful words, we can’t do that yet.

6. We only accept work via Submittable.

7. Simultaneous submissions are perfectly OK, but please let us know if your work is accepted somewhere else by making a note in Submittable. Previously published work is not accepted.

8. We acquire first North American serial rights for work we publish. All rights revert to the author upon publication. Should your work be subsequently published in a chapbook, full collection, another journal, or anthology, please mention that it appeared first in Rockvale Review.

9. Submission Fee: We charge a $3.00 submission fee for all submissions.

$3.00

For Submission of Short Fiction:
1. Send 1 piece of writing, double-spaced, with a word limit of 2500.

2. In the header of each page, please include the story title. Please include page numbers.

3. Story must be a complete work on its own and not an excerpt of a greater work. There must be a clear narrative arc that peaks with crisis/action. We are looking for stories that move us.

4. Please carefully check your work for misspellings, punctuation, language issues, etc.


Applicable to all genres:
1. We read blind, so don’t put your name anywhere on your work or in the title of the file you attach. If we see a name, the submission will be disqualified and we won’t read it. 

2. You can add a cover letter and a 100-word, 3rd-person bio in the appropriate section on the form if you wish, but we are more interested in the quality of the work you send now than in your past achievements. If your work is accepted, we will contact you for your author’s bio.

3. Please use 12-point, Times New Roman font. We only accept .doc, .docx or PDF files.

4. We may ask for an edit in a piece of writing we really believe in.

5. While we’d love to compensate you for your beautiful words, we can’t do that yet.

6. We only accept work via Submittable.

7. Simultaneous submissions are perfectly OK, but please let us know if your work is accepted somewhere else by making a note in Submittable. Previously published work is not accepted.

8. We acquire first North American serial rights for work we publish. All rights revert to the author upon publication. Should your work be subsequently published in a chapbook, full collection, another journal, or anthology, please mention that it appeared first in Rockvale Review.

9. Submission Fee: We charge a $3.00 submission fee for all submissions.

$3.00

For Submissions of Creative Nonfiction:
1. Send 1 piece of writing, double-spaced, no longer than 2500 words.

2. In the header of each page, please include the CNF title. Please include page numbers.

3. We consider CNF to include memoir, essay, and reported material written in a narrative style using storytelling techniques.

4. Please carefully check your work for misspellings, punctuation, language issues, etc.


Applicable to all genres:
1.We read blind, so don’t put your name anywhere on your work or in the title of the file you attach. If we see a name, the submission will be disqualified and we won’t read it. 

2. You can add a cover letter and a 100-word, 3rd-person bio in the appropriate section on the form if you wish, but we are more interested in the quality of the work you send now than in your past achievements. If your work is accepted, we will contact you for your author’s bio.

3. Please use 12-point, Times New Roman font. We only accept .doc, .docx or PDF files.

4. We may ask for an edit in a piece of writing we really believe in.

5. While we’d love to compensate you for your beautiful words, we can’t do that yet.

6. We only accept work via Submittable.

7. Simultaneous submissions are perfectly OK, but please let us know if your work is accepted somewhere else by making a note in Submittable. Previously published work is not accepted.

8. We acquire first North American serial rights for work we publish. All rights revert to the author upon publication. Should your work be subsequently published in a chapbook, full collection, another journal, or anthology, please mention that it appeared first in Rockvale Review.

9. Submission Fee: We charge a $3.00 submission fee for all submissions.

Rockvale Writers Group